Southern Tier


For information on the Southern Tier, one of 10 NY economic regions, visit

For information on the expanded area known as the NY Appalachian Southern Tier, continue reading below.

Southern Tier East (STE) counties include:

  • Broome
  • Chenango
  • Cortland
  • Delaware
  • Otsego
  • Schoharie
  • Tioga
  • Tompkins

Southern Tier Central (STC) counties include:

  • Chemung
  • Schuyler
  • Steuben

Southern Tier West (STW) counties include:

  • Allegany
  • Cattaraugus
  • Chautauqua